Doing our best for top-quality wines

Manual work and precision

Our wine estate has 16.5 hectares under cultivation and the very best terroir. Light, multilayered soils in a sun-blessed location well ventilated by mild sea breezes – that is home to our wines and the nursery for excellent grapes that are gently harvested and lovingly tended in intensive manual work processes until the time is ripe.

Our vineyards

In the vineyard we work on the model of the “médocaine” method employed in the Bordeaux region, with a very high vine density combined with low vine height. We have also divided our vineyard into 15 microsites and 38 plots. In the interest of consistent quality, the grapes are harvested in the traditional style at the vine on the basis of the low-yield principle, a time-consuming but rewarding process.

Our cellar

In the cellar, too, we work in harmony with nature and take advantage of the natural laws – like gravity. The use of the latest equipment is combined with gentle processing methods and a spirit of experimentation. Vinification is performed with the greatest care and without any time constraints. We ensure that the wines in the cellar are given the time they need to mature in peace. In this context, the use of various barrels and toasts is an ongoing process of further development.

Wines of distinction

After more than fifty years of wine-growing in Germany, the Knauf family of entrepreneurs from Franconia saw their dream come true twenty years ago in the form of a wine estate in the Italian region of Tuscany. At Campo Sughera, Isabel Knauf and her cousin Frederick Knauf are today pursuing a clear goal: making elegant wines with a distinctive identity – including one of the most popular Bolgheri Doc Superiore.

Alles geben für beste Weine

Handarbeit und Präzision

Unser Weingut umfasst 16,5 Hektar Anbaufläche inmitten bestem Terroir: Vielschichtige leichte Böden, von der Sonne verwöhnt und von der milden Meeresbrise gut durchlüftet – das ist die Heimat unserer Weine. Hier gedeiht unser wertvolles Traubengut, das wir monatelang in aufwendiger Handarbeit hegen und pflegen bis die Zeit reif ist.

Unser Weingarten

Bei unserer Arbeit im Weinberg nehmen wir uns die „methode médocaine“ aus dem Bordeaux zum Vorbild und arbeiten mit einer sehr hohen Bepflanzungsdichte bei niedriger Stockhöhe. Zudem haben wir unseren Weingarten in 15 Kleinstlagen und 38 Parzellen eingeteilt. Für eine konsequent hohe Qualität erfolgt die Traubenlese pro Rebstock traditionell nach dem mühsamen aber lohnenden Niedrigertrag-System.

Ausgezeichnete Weine

Auch im Keller arbeiten wir im Einklang mit der Natur und bedienen uns ihrer Gesetze, wie die Schwerkraft. Hier trifft modernste Technik auf schonende Verarbeitungsmethoden und Experimentierfreude. Die Vinifikation erfolgt ganz ohne Zeitdruck und so schonend wie möglich. Beim selektiven Ausbau achten wir darauf, unseren Weinen genügend Zeit zu geben, um in Ruhe heranreifen zu können. Dabei ist der Einsatz von unterschiedlichen Gebinden und Toastings ein stetiger Prozess der Potenzialentfaltung.

Weine von Welt

Nach mehr als einem halben Jahrhundert eigener Weinbaugeschichte in Deutschland hat die fränkische Unternehmerfamilie Knauf vor 20 Jahren ihren Traum vom Weingut in der Toskana verwirklicht. Mit Campo alla Sughera verfolgen Isabel Knauf und ihr Cousin Frederick Knauf heute ein klares Ziel: Elegante Weine von unverkennbarer Identität zu keltern – darunter einen der gefragtesten Bolgheri Doc Superiore.